UK council spending · supplier

British Gas Trading Ltd: council payments

6 published councils paid British Gas Trading Ltd £192,564 across 616 payments dated 4 April 2025 to 25 August 2026, as the councils publish them in their spending files.

The largest payer was City of York Council (£88,057).

Data as of Oct 21, 2026 (Olympus publication) · Markdown version

  • Payments as each council publishes them under the Local Government Transparency Code 2015, mapped onto one schema. Amounts, dates and names are not adjusted: councils differ in threshold (over £500, over £250 or all spend), in whether amounts include VAT, and in which date they publish (payment, posting or certification). Redacted payees, usually individuals, are returned as redacted and never named. See GET /v1/uk-council-spending/coverage for the councils, files and months loaded.
  • Suppliers are grouped by a normalised form of the published name (upper case, punctuation removed, LIMITED as LTD, ...). Grouping is not identity: different organisations can share a name, and one organisation can appear under several. A supplier is linked to a company only through a Companies House number a council file publishes.

Totals by council

Each council's payments to this supplier name, from the spending files in that council's catalogue.

CouncilPaymentsTotalFirst paymentLast paymentSource
City of York Council191£88,056.744 April 202528 July 2026York Open Data catalogue, 14 August 2026
Rushmoor Borough Council56£36,375.9330 October 202523 July 2026data.gov.uk catalogue, 21 October 2026
London Borough of Barnet198£23,309.6727 March 202630 July 2026Barnet open data catalogue
Rochdale Borough Council157£22,591.807 October 202525 August 2026data.gov.uk catalogue, 23 September 2026
Wakefield Metropolitan District Council11£21,605.059 October 20252 June 2026Data Mill North catalogue
Leeds City Council3£625.0514 November 202518 March 2026Data Mill North catalogue

Totals by month

Payments from every council above, by the month of the date each council publishes.

MonthPaymentsTotal
April 20258£3,751.77
May 202518£6,808.03
June 20256£1,832.63
July 20253£1,003.60
August 20251£561.14
September 202513£4,097.93
October 202527£9,545.17
November 202514£9,902.46
December 202518£6,611.41
January 202647£23,510.39
February 202640£26,523.66
March 2026100£24,750.56
April 2026153£29,285.49
May 202630£14,906.16
June 202663£15,432.30
July 202650£11,206.18
August 202625£2,835.36
  • Amounts as published: no VAT adjustment and no reconciliation to accounts. Negative amounts are credits.

Recent payments

The 10 latest payments, each with the council file it is read from.

Payment dateCouncilAmountExpense typeSource file (file date)
25 August 2026Rochdale Borough Council£107.87NEIGHBOURHOODS AND ENVIRONMENT2026_AUG_Spend.csv (23 September 2026)
21 August 2026Rochdale Borough Council£13.32NEIGHBOURHOODS AND ENVIRONMENT2026_AUG_Spend.csv (23 September 2026)
21 August 2026Rochdale Borough Council£1.74NEIGHBOURHOODS AND ENVIRONMENT2026_AUG_Spend.csv (23 September 2026)
21 August 2026Rochdale Borough Council£8.41NEIGHBOURHOODS AND ENVIRONMENT2026_AUG_Spend.csv (23 September 2026)
14 August 2026Rochdale Borough Council£136.37NEIGHBOURHOODS AND ENVIRONMENT2026_AUG_Spend.csv (23 September 2026)
14 August 2026Rochdale Borough Council£26.67NEIGHBOURHOODS AND ENVIRONMENT2026_AUG_Spend.csv (23 September 2026)
14 August 2026Rochdale Borough Council£26.58NEIGHBOURHOODS AND ENVIRONMENT2026_AUG_Spend.csv (23 September 2026)
14 August 2026Rochdale Borough Council£14.11NEIGHBOURHOODS AND ENVIRONMENT2026_AUG_Spend.csv (23 September 2026)
14 August 2026Rochdale Borough Council£27.31NEIGHBOURHOODS AND ENVIRONMENT2026_AUG_Spend.csv (23 September 2026)
14 August 2026Rochdale Borough Council£71.50NEIGHBOURHOODS AND ENVIRONMENT2026_AUG_Spend.csv (23 September 2026)

Top expense types

How the councils label these payments, largest first.

Expense typePaymentsTotal
Electricity274£100,314.56
not published158£22,644.04
Gas Companies11£21,605.05
Repairs and Maintenance (Reactive)35£19,109.94
Removals20£8,774.84
Service Specific Fees22£5,814.51
Incidental Payments16£4,706.36
Other Services7£4,603.16
Gas67£3,787.04
Other Capital Works Etc3£361.48

Names and identifiers

The spellings councils publish, and the numbers their files carry or the shared identifier registry links. Payments are grouped by a normalised name, which is not identity.

Name or identifierValueWhere from
Name as publishedBritish Gas Trading Ltd235 payments
Name as publishedBritish Gas Trading Limited213 payments
Name as publishedBRITISH GAS TRADING LTD157 payments
Name as publishedBRITISH GAS TRADING LIMITED11 payments
Companies House number03078711published in the council files
  • Supplier pages exist only for suppliers paid at least £100,000 in total or by at least 3 councils, and only when the published lines show an organisation (a Companies House or charity number, a legal form such as LTD or PLC, or a public body's name) and the name has no personal title. Sole traders, individuals and payees councils redact get no page.

Sources

  • City of York Council spending files (York Open Data catalogue) — City of York Council. Payments dated 2 April 2025 to 31 July 2026, source date 2026-08-14. https://data.yorkopendata.org/api/3/action/package_show?id=all-payments-to-suppliers
  • Rushmoor Borough Council spending files (data.gov.uk catalogue) — Rushmoor Borough Council. Payments dated 10 January 2025 to 30 July 2026, source date 2026-10-21. https://ckan.publishing.service.gov.uk/api/action/package_show?id=rushmoor-250-spend
  • London Borough of Barnet spending files (Barnet open data catalogue) — London Borough of Barnet. Payments dated 1 October 2025 to 28 August 2026. https://open.barnet.gov.uk/api/action/package_show?id=2ywz8
  • Rochdale Borough Council spending files (data.gov.uk catalogue) — Rochdale Borough Council. Payments dated 1 October 2025 to 28 August 2026, source date 2026-09-23. https://ckan.publishing.service.gov.uk/api/action/package_show?id=council-spending-over-500
  • Wakefield Metropolitan District Council spending files (Data Mill North catalogue) — Wakefield Metropolitan District Council. Payments dated 1 October 2025 to 30 September 2026. https://datamillnorth.org/api/action/package_show?id=e61m0
  • Leeds City Council spending files (Data Mill North catalogue) — Leeds City Council. Payments dated 4 June 2025 to 30 June 2026. https://datamillnorth.org/api/action/package_show?id=2gpp0
  • Published by Olympus on Oct 21, 2026.
  • Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v2.0 (City of York Council).
  • City of York Council: licence as the catalogue states it: Open Government Licence 2.0 (United Kingdom) (York Open Data record license_title).
  • Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence (Rushmoor Borough Council).
  • Rushmoor Borough Council: licence as the catalogue states it: UK Open Government Licence (OGL) (data.gov.uk record, license_id uk-ogl; version not stated).
  • Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0 (London Borough of Barnet).
  • London Borough of Barnet: licence as the catalogue states it: Open Government Licence v3 (Barnet open data record license_title).
  • Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence (Rochdale Borough Council).
  • Rochdale Borough Council: licence as the catalogue states it: UK Open Government Licence (OGL) (data.gov.uk record, license_id uk-ogl; version not stated).
  • Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0 (Wakefield Council).
  • Wakefield Metropolitan District Council: licence as the catalogue states it: Open Government Licence v3 (Data Mill North record license_title).
  • Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0 (Leeds City Council).
  • Leeds City Council: licence as the catalogue states it: Open Government Licence v3 (Data Mill North record license_title).

Get this data from the API

The same figures, with provenance on every value, from the API (free API key, reference).

curl
curl -s "https://api.olympus.new-odyssey.com/v1/uk-council-spending/suppliers/british-gas-trading-ltd" -H "X-API-Key: $OLYMPUS_API_KEY"

curl -s "https://api.olympus.new-odyssey.com/v1/uk-council-spending/transactions?supplier=british-gas-trading-ltd" -H "X-API-Key: $OLYMPUS_API_KEY"

Councils that paid this supplier

About this data