UK council spending · supplier

MARSH LTD: council payments

4 published councils paid MARSH LTD £1,815,830 across 28 payments dated 9 January 2025 to 18 May 2026, as the councils publish them in their spending files.

The largest payer was Liverpool City Council (£1,004,885).

Data as of Oct 21, 2026 (Olympus publication) · Markdown version

  • Payments as each council publishes them under the Local Government Transparency Code 2015, mapped onto one schema. Amounts, dates and names are not adjusted: councils differ in threshold (over £500, over £250 or all spend), in whether amounts include VAT, and in which date they publish (payment, posting or certification). Redacted payees, usually individuals, are returned as redacted and never named. See GET /v1/uk-council-spending/coverage for the councils, files and months loaded.
  • Suppliers are grouped by a normalised form of the published name (upper case, punctuation removed, LIMITED as LTD, ...). Grouping is not identity: different organisations can share a name, and one organisation can appear under several. A supplier is linked to a company only through a Companies House number a council file publishes.

Totals by council

Each council's payments to this supplier name, from the spending files in that council's catalogue.

CouncilPaymentsTotalFirst paymentLast paymentSource
Liverpool City Council13£1,004,884.749 January 202521 May 2025Data Mill North catalogue
Wirral Council10£604,344.3419 November 202522 April 2026data.gov.uk catalogue, 14 July 2026
City of York Council4£184,132.6921 May 202518 May 2026York Open Data catalogue, 14 August 2026
Rochdale Borough Council1£22,468.1528 November 202528 November 2025data.gov.uk catalogue, 23 September 2026

Totals by month

Payments from every council above, by the month of the date each council publishes.

MonthPaymentsTotal
January 20252£6,977.82
February 20252£9,162.16
May 202510£1,006,308.21
July 20251£78,061.68
November 20252£27,418.15
February 20261£616.00
March 20265£581,422.40
April 20263£17,355.94
May 20262£88,507.56
  • Amounts as published: no VAT adjustment and no reconciliation to accounts. Negative amounts are credits.

Recent payments

The 10 latest payments, each with the council file it is read from.

Payment dateCouncilAmountExpense typeSource file (file date)
18 May 2026City of York Council£72,262.41Non Employee Insurance Premiumsover250payments2026.csv (14 August 2026)
18 May 2026City of York Council£16,245.15Non Employee Insurance Premiumsover250payments2026.csv (14 August 2026)
22 April 2026Wirral Council£736.55W8700over-ps500-april-2026.csv (2 July 2026)
16 April 2026Wirral Council£3,318.56W8700over-ps500-april-2026.csv (2 July 2026)
9 April 2026Wirral Council£13,300.83W8700over-ps500-april-2026.csv (2 July 2026)
18 March 2026Wirral Council£67,019.03W8700over-ps500-spend-march-2026.csv (28 May 2026)
17 March 2026Wirral Council£29,400.00W8700over-ps500-spend-march-2026.csv (28 May 2026)
17 March 2026Wirral Council£882.42W8700over-ps500-spend-march-2026.csv (28 May 2026)
17 March 2026Wirral Council£6,818.39W8700over-ps500-spend-march-2026.csv (28 May 2026)
17 March 2026Wirral Council£477,302.56W8700over-ps500-spend-march-2026.csv (28 May 2026)

Top expense types

How the councils label these payments, largest first.

Expense typePaymentsTotal
not published11£626,812.49
Miscellaneous Insurances8£551,652.71
Premises Insurance (Gen)3£450,009.22
Non Employee Insurance Premiums4£184,132.69
Professional Services2£3,222.81

Names and identifiers

The spellings councils publish, and the numbers their files carry or the shared identifier registry links. Payments are grouped by a normalised name, which is not identity.

Name or identifierValueWhere from
Name as publishedMARSH LTD14 payments
Name as publishedMARSH LIMITED10 payments
Name as publishedMarsh Ltd4 payments
  • Supplier pages exist only for suppliers paid at least £100,000 in total or by at least 3 councils, and only when the published lines show an organisation (a Companies House or charity number, a legal form such as LTD or PLC, or a public body's name) and the name has no personal title. Sole traders, individuals and payees councils redact get no page.

Sources

  • Liverpool City Council spending files (Data Mill North catalogue) — Liverpool City Council. Payments dated 21 November 2023 to 30 June 2025. https://datamillnorth.org/api/action/package_show?id=2w6d8
  • Wirral Council spending files (data.gov.uk catalogue) — Wirral Council. Payments dated 1 October 2025 to 29 May 2026, source date 2026-07-14. https://ckan.publishing.service.gov.uk/api/action/package_show?id=https-www-wirral-gov-uk-about-council-budgets-and-spending-payments-suppliers-and-agents
  • City of York Council spending files (York Open Data catalogue) — City of York Council. Payments dated 2 April 2025 to 31 July 2026, source date 2026-08-14. https://data.yorkopendata.org/api/3/action/package_show?id=all-payments-to-suppliers
  • Rochdale Borough Council spending files (data.gov.uk catalogue) — Rochdale Borough Council. Payments dated 1 October 2025 to 28 August 2026, source date 2026-09-23. https://ckan.publishing.service.gov.uk/api/action/package_show?id=council-spending-over-500
  • Published by Olympus on Oct 21, 2026.
  • Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v2.0 (Liverpool City Council).
  • Liverpool City Council: licence as the catalogue states it: Open Government Licence v2 (Data Mill North record license_title).
  • Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence (Wirral Council).
  • Wirral Council: licence as the catalogue states it: UK Open Government Licence (OGL) (data.gov.uk record, license_id uk-ogl; version not stated).
  • Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v2.0 (City of York Council).
  • City of York Council: licence as the catalogue states it: Open Government Licence 2.0 (United Kingdom) (York Open Data record license_title).
  • Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence (Rochdale Borough Council).
  • Rochdale Borough Council: licence as the catalogue states it: UK Open Government Licence (OGL) (data.gov.uk record, license_id uk-ogl; version not stated).

Get this data from the API

The same figures, with provenance on every value, from the API (free API key, reference).

curl
curl -s "https://api.olympus.new-odyssey.com/v1/uk-council-spending/suppliers/marsh-ltd" -H "X-API-Key: $OLYMPUS_API_KEY"

curl -s "https://api.olympus.new-odyssey.com/v1/uk-council-spending/transactions?supplier=marsh-ltd" -H "X-API-Key: $OLYMPUS_API_KEY"

Councils that paid this supplier

About this data