UK council spending

Leicester City Council spending

Leicester City Council published 134,861 payments totalling £929,459,882 dated 7 July 2024 to 30 September 2026, in the 2 spending files Olympus has loaded (the council publishes spending over £500).

The largest named supplier was Biffa Waste Services Ltd (£35,381,208). 4,589 payments went to payees the council redacted (usually individuals); they count in the totals but are never named.

Data as of Oct 21, 2026 (Olympus publication) · Markdown version

  • Payments as each council publishes them under the Local Government Transparency Code 2015, mapped onto one schema. Amounts, dates and names are not adjusted: councils differ in threshold (over £500, over £250 or all spend), in whether amounts include VAT, and in which date they publish (payment, posting or certification). Redacted payees, usually individuals, are returned as redacted and never named. See GET /v1/uk-council-spending/coverage for the councils, files and months loaded.
  • Suppliers are grouped by a normalised form of the published name (upper case, punctuation removed, LIMITED as LTD, ...). Grouping is not identity: different organisations can share a name, and one organisation can appear under several. A supplier is linked to a company only through a Companies House number a council file publishes.

What is loaded

MeasureValue
Council (ONS GSS code)Leicester City Council (E06000016)
Payment dates7 July 2024 to 30 September 2026
File periods1 January 2025 to 31 December 2026
Months with paymentsJanuary 2025, February 2025, March 2025, April 2025, May 2025, June 2025, July 2025, August 2025, September 2025, October 2025, November 2025, December 2025, January 2026, February 2026, March 2026, April 2026, May 2026, June 2026, July 2026, August 2026, September 2026
Months missingnone
Files loaded / not loaded2 / 106
What the council publishesover £500
Payments134,861
Total£929,459,881.88
Suppliers (normalised names)3,952
Payments to redacted payees4,589
Cataloguedata.gov.uk
  • Coverage is only what the council has published and Olympus has loaded; see the coverage page for every council and month.

Spending by month

Payments by the month of the date the council publishes (payment, posting or certification date, as in each file), with the file each month comes from.

MonthPaymentsTotalSource file
July 20241-£486.79payment dated outside the files' periods
January 20256,861£49,254,787.54expenditure-exceeding-ps500-2025.csv
February 20255,645£30,866,920.95expenditure-exceeding-ps500-2025.csv
March 20257,116£52,338,912.28expenditure-exceeding-ps500-2025.csv
April 20256,482£47,157,902.52expenditure-exceeding-ps500-2025.csv
May 20256,410£42,636,791.31expenditure-exceeding-ps500-2025.csv
June 20256,104£40,061,768.05expenditure-exceeding-ps500-2025.csv
July 20255,878£31,993,152.40expenditure-exceeding-ps500-2025.csv
August 20256,699£49,290,388.60expenditure-exceeding-ps500-2025.csv
September 20255,909£41,836,658.15expenditure-exceeding-ps500-2025.csv
October 20256,281£37,542,289.67expenditure-exceeding-ps500-2025.csv
November 20255,574£32,630,369.98expenditure-exceeding-ps500-2025.csv
December 20257,679£60,249,777.15expenditure-exceeding-ps500-2025.csv
January 20266,642£41,110,024.88expenditure-exceeding-ps500-2026.csv
February 20265,637£31,088,462.04expenditure-exceeding-ps500-2026.csv
March 20267,016£51,728,306.55expenditure-exceeding-ps500-2026.csv
April 20266,981£58,637,882.34expenditure-exceeding-ps500-2026.csv
May 20266,015£37,490,102.54expenditure-exceeding-ps500-2026.csv
June 20266,689£48,436,830.93expenditure-exceeding-ps500-2026.csv
July 20265,244£39,384,417.10expenditure-exceeding-ps500-2026.csv
August 20265,347£41,580,845.15expenditure-exceeding-ps500-2026.csv
September 20268,651£64,143,778.54expenditure-exceeding-ps500-2026.csv
  • Amounts as published: no VAT adjustment and no reconciliation to the council's accounts. Negative amounts are credits.

Top suppliers

The ten largest suppliers by amount, 7 July 2024 to 30 September 2026, grouped by normalised name, from the files listed below.

SupplierPaymentsTotalCompanies House number
Biffa Waste Services Ltd209£35,381,207.77—
Lovell Partnerships Ltd37£16,390,294.45—
Leicester BSF Company 2 Ltd91£14,735,886.93—
Leicester BSF Company 1 Ltd116£14,592,963.47—
Click Travel Ltd T/A Perk UK Ltd67£13,867,022.07—
Turning Point Services Ltd FA SL&FSB63£13,035,507.29—
Total Gas & Power Ltd2,508£10,659,801.52—
Click Travel Ltd61£10,646,076.50—
Gap Property Services (Leicester) Ltd184£10,360,188.98—
Arriva Midlands Ltd36£10,211,155.08—
  • A supplier is linked to a company only through a Companies House number the council's files publish, never by name.

Top service areas

The ten largest department and service pairs by amount, as the council labels them.

DepartmentServicePaymentsTotal
Education & Childrens Servicesnot published26,103£269,304,734.64
Adultsnot published77,946£261,355,191.80
City Developments and Neighbourhoodnot published22,092£187,836,526.28
Housing HRAnot published892£48,507,880.12
City, Development and Neighbourhoodsnot published1,724£44,619,435.58
Corporate Resources & Supportnot published3,146£31,204,323.65
Corporate Financenot published522£27,729,450.86
Public Health Departmentnot published930£25,917,773.04
Education and Children’s Servicesnot published493£14,450,693.86
Housing General Fundnot published548£7,311,725.62

Top expense types

The ten largest expense types by amount, as the council labels them.

Expense typePaymentsTotal
Residential Care34,053£150,868,427.12
Building Works - Alterations1,709£71,970,585.08
Voluntary Organisations6,199£69,309,388.27
Other Agencies6,757£58,673,794.79
Home Care28,599£47,743,199.85
Accommodation Expenses4,741£46,916,565.62
Private Contractors265£39,823,204.83
BSF - Unitary Charge44£27,615,972.45
Independent School Fees1,270£25,491,482.68
Supported Living5,539£24,571,550.90

Source files

Every file the council's catalogue lists that Olympus considered, with its period, whether it loaded, and its date and licence as published.

FilePeriodStatusPayments loadedFile dateLicence
expenditure-exceeding-ps500-2025.csv1 January 2025 to 31 December 2025loaded76,639—not stated
expenditure-exceeding-ps500-2026.csv1 January 2026 to 31 December 2026loaded58,222—not stated
  • File date: the date the council's server gives for the file when it was retrieved.

Sources

Get this data from the API

The same figures, with provenance on every value, from the API (free API key, reference).

curl
curl -s "https://api.olympus.new-odyssey.com/v1/uk-council-spending/councils/E06000016" -H "X-API-Key: $OLYMPUS_API_KEY"

Other councils

About this data