UK council spending · supplier

Asda Stores Ltd: council payments

5 published councils paid Asda Stores Ltd £113,005 across 304 payments dated 26 August 2025 to 13 August 2026, as the councils publish them in their spending files.

The largest payer was Wirral Council (£48,029).

Data as of Oct 21, 2026 (Olympus publication) · Markdown version

  • Payments as each council publishes them under the Local Government Transparency Code 2015, mapped onto one schema. Amounts, dates and names are not adjusted: councils differ in threshold (over £500, over £250 or all spend), in whether amounts include VAT, and in which date they publish (payment, posting or certification). Redacted payees, usually individuals, are returned as redacted and never named. See GET /v1/uk-council-spending/coverage for the councils, files and months loaded.
  • Suppliers are grouped by a normalised form of the published name (upper case, punctuation removed, LIMITED as LTD, ...). Grouping is not identity: different organisations can share a name, and one organisation can appear under several. A supplier is linked to a company only through a Companies House number a council file publishes.

Totals by council

Each council's payments to this supplier name, from the spending files in that council's catalogue.

CouncilPaymentsTotalFirst paymentLast paymentSource
Wirral Council5£48,029.007 October 202514 May 2026data.gov.uk catalogue, 14 July 2026
Leeds City Council268£31,730.8326 August 202522 May 2026Data Mill North catalogue
Rochdale Borough Council16£26,500.0010 October 202513 August 2026data.gov.uk catalogue, 23 September 2026
Sheffield City Council14£3,750.002 October 20256 August 2026Data Mill North catalogue
Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council1£2,995.2016 March 202616 March 2026data.gov.uk catalogue, 28 September 2026

Totals by month

Payments from every council above, by the month of the date each council publishes.

MonthPaymentsTotal
August 20254£575.00
September 202526£2,900.83
October 202546£8,708.83
November 202530£8,342.98
December 202539£7,558.33
January 202631£7,710.76
February 202637£5,344.17
March 202636£52,102.70
April 202626£5,286.66
May 202623£6,474.77
June 20261£2,000.00
July 20261£2,000.00
August 20264£4,000.00
  • Amounts as published: no VAT adjustment and no reconciliation to accounts. Negative amounts are credits.

Recent payments

The 10 latest payments, each with the council file it is read from.

Payment dateCouncilAmountExpense typeSource file (file date)
13 August 2026Rochdale Borough Council£2,000.00ECONOMY DIRECTORATE2026_AUG_Spend.csv (23 September 2026)
6 August 2026Sheffield City Council£302.79SUPERMARKETSPUBLISHED REPORT - August 2026.xlsx
6 August 2026Sheffield City Council-£302.79SUPERMARKETSPUBLISHED REPORT - August 2026.xlsx
6 August 2026Rochdale Borough Council£2,000.00ECONOMY DIRECTORATE2026_AUG_Spend.csv (23 September 2026)
3 July 2026Rochdale Borough Council£2,000.00ECONOMY DIRECTORATE2026_JUL_Spend.csv (23 September 2026)
4 June 2026Rochdale Borough Council£2,000.00ECONOMY DIRECTORATE2026_JUN_Spend.csv (23 September 2026)
22 May 2026Leeds City Council£50.00Agency Paymentsspending_2026_06.csv
21 May 2026Leeds City Council£41.67Supplies and Servicesspending_2026_06.csv
20 May 2026Leeds City Council£33.33Supplies and Servicesspending_2026_06.csv
19 May 2026Leeds City Council£150.00Supplies and Servicesspending_2026_06.csv

Top expense types

How the councils label these payments, largest first.

Expense typePaymentsTotal
not published21£74,529.00
Supplies and Services160£19,642.51
Other Hired And Contracted Services70£9,234.16
SUPERMARKETS14£3,750.00
Retailer1£2,995.20
Subsistence16£1,895.83
Agency Payments9£488.33
Appropriations5£115.00
Payments To Residents1£100.00
Leaving Care Allowances3£95.00

Names and identifiers

The spellings councils publish, and the numbers their files carry or the shared identifier registry links. Payments are grouped by a normalised name, which is not identity.

Name or identifierValueWhere from
Name as publishedAsda Stores Ltd268 payments
Name as publishedASDA STORES LTD21 payments
Name as publishedASDA STORES LIMITED14 payments
Name as publishedASDA Stores Limited1 payments
  • Supplier pages exist only for suppliers paid at least £100,000 in total or by at least 3 councils, and only when the published lines show an organisation (a Companies House or charity number, a legal form such as LTD or PLC, or a public body's name) and the name has no personal title. Sole traders, individuals and payees councils redact get no page.

Sources

  • Wirral Council spending files (data.gov.uk catalogue) — Wirral Council. Payments dated 1 October 2025 to 29 May 2026, source date 2026-07-14. https://ckan.publishing.service.gov.uk/api/action/package_show?id=https-www-wirral-gov-uk-about-council-budgets-and-spending-payments-suppliers-and-agents
  • Leeds City Council spending files (Data Mill North catalogue) — Leeds City Council. Payments dated 4 June 2025 to 30 June 2026. https://datamillnorth.org/api/action/package_show?id=2gpp0
  • Rochdale Borough Council spending files (data.gov.uk catalogue) — Rochdale Borough Council. Payments dated 1 October 2025 to 28 August 2026, source date 2026-09-23. https://ckan.publishing.service.gov.uk/api/action/package_show?id=council-spending-over-500
  • Sheffield City Council spending files (Data Mill North catalogue) — Sheffield City Council. Payments dated 1 October 2025 to 30 September 2026. https://datamillnorth.org/api/action/package_show?id=emd0m
  • Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council spending files (data.gov.uk catalogue) — Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council. Payments dated 1 October 2025 to 28 August 2026, source date 2026-09-28. https://ckan.publishing.service.gov.uk/api/action/package_show?id=stockport-council-all-spend
  • Published by Olympus on Oct 21, 2026.
  • Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence (Wirral Council).
  • Wirral Council: licence as the catalogue states it: UK Open Government Licence (OGL) (data.gov.uk record, license_id uk-ogl; version not stated).
  • Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0 (Leeds City Council).
  • Leeds City Council: licence as the catalogue states it: Open Government Licence v3 (Data Mill North record license_title).
  • Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence (Rochdale Borough Council).
  • Rochdale Borough Council: licence as the catalogue states it: UK Open Government Licence (OGL) (data.gov.uk record, license_id uk-ogl; version not stated).
  • Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0 (Sheffield City Council).
  • Sheffield City Council: licence as the catalogue states it: Open Government Licence v3 (Data Mill North record license_title).
  • Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence (Stockport Council).
  • Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council: licence as the catalogue states it: UK Open Government Licence (OGL) (data.gov.uk record, license_id uk-ogl; version not stated).

Get this data from the API

The same figures, with provenance on every value, from the API (free API key, reference).

curl
curl -s "https://api.olympus.new-odyssey.com/v1/uk-council-spending/suppliers/asda-stores-ltd" -H "X-API-Key: $OLYMPUS_API_KEY"

curl -s "https://api.olympus.new-odyssey.com/v1/uk-council-spending/transactions?supplier=asda-stores-ltd" -H "X-API-Key: $OLYMPUS_API_KEY"

Councils that paid this supplier

About this data