UK council spending · supplier

Browne Jacobson LLP: council payments

7 published councils paid Browne Jacobson LLP £5,320,712 across 108 payments dated 21 January 2025 to 30 September 2026, as the councils publish them in their spending files.

The largest payer was Sheffield City Council (£5,122,273).

Data as of Oct 21, 2026 (Olympus publication) · Markdown version

  • Payments as each council publishes them under the Local Government Transparency Code 2015, mapped onto one schema. Amounts, dates and names are not adjusted: councils differ in threshold (over £500, over £250 or all spend), in whether amounts include VAT, and in which date they publish (payment, posting or certification). Redacted payees, usually individuals, are returned as redacted and never named. See GET /v1/uk-council-spending/coverage for the councils, files and months loaded.
  • Suppliers are grouped by a normalised form of the published name (upper case, punctuation removed, LIMITED as LTD, ...). Grouping is not identity: different organisations can share a name, and one organisation can appear under several. A supplier is linked to a company only through a Companies House number a council file publishes.

Totals by council

Each council's payments to this supplier name, from the spending files in that council's catalogue.

CouncilPaymentsTotalFirst paymentLast paymentSource
Sheffield City Council36£5,122,272.557 October 202528 August 2026Data Mill North catalogue
Leicester City Council25£98,534.7021 January 202530 September 2026data.gov.uk catalogue
City of York Council26£36,688.4028 April 202522 June 2026York Open Data catalogue, 14 August 2026
Rushmoor Borough Council11£35,337.2016 October 202511 June 2026data.gov.uk catalogue, 21 October 2026
Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council8£20,914.5024 October 202522 May 2026data.gov.uk catalogue, 28 September 2026
Leeds City Council1£3,500.001 October 20251 October 2025Data Mill North catalogue
Wirral Council1£3,465.0231 March 202631 March 2026data.gov.uk catalogue, 14 July 2026

Totals by month

Payments from every council above, by the month of the date each council publishes.

MonthPaymentsTotal
January 20251£3,906.00
March 20252£8,682.50
April 20252£40,787.20
May 20252£1,804.80
July 20256£31,076.40
August 20255£11,047.80
September 20254£7,124.10
October 202515£36,246.10
November 20257£17,223.10
December 20257£11,664.40
January 20266£11,003.98
February 20267£9,924.40
March 202611£16,164.09
April 20265£12,518.70
May 202610£530,879.90
June 20265£4,554,086.90
July 20263£9,284.10
August 20268£5,874.40
September 20262£1,413.50
  • Amounts as published: no VAT adjustment and no reconciliation to accounts. Negative amounts are credits.

Recent payments

The 10 latest payments, each with the council file it is read from.

Payment dateCouncilAmountExpense typeSource file (file date)
30 September 2026Leicester City Council£609.50Legal Fees & Chargescsv
30 September 2026Leicester City Council£804.00Legal Fees & Chargescsv
28 August 2026Sheffield City Council£629.00SOLICITORSPUBLISHED REPORT - August 2026.xlsx
28 August 2026Sheffield City Council£461.00SOLICITORSPUBLISHED REPORT - August 2026.xlsx
28 August 2026Sheffield City Council£435.00SOLICITORSPUBLISHED REPORT - August 2026.xlsx
21 August 2026Sheffield City Council£1,082.00SOLICITORSPUBLISHED REPORT - August 2026.xlsx
21 August 2026Sheffield City Council£463.50SOLICITORSPUBLISHED REPORT - August 2026.xlsx
21 August 2026Sheffield City Council£450.50SOLICITORSPUBLISHED REPORT - August 2026.xlsx
11 August 2026Sheffield City Council£1,478.40SOLICITORSPUBLISHED REPORT - August 2026.xlsx
4 August 2026Leicester City Council£875.00Legal Fees & Chargescsv

Top expense types

How the councils label these payments, largest first.

Expense typePaymentsTotal
EMERGENCY /ONE OFF1£4,545,000.00
EMERGENCY / ONE OFF1£505,000.00
SOLICITORS34£72,272.55
Claims Settlement2£65,000.00
External Solicitors25£35,738.40
Legal Fees & Charges23£33,534.70
Contract Procurement10£32,802.40
Legal Services8£20,914.50
Bought In Professional Services1£3,500.00
not published1£3,465.02

Names and identifiers

The spellings councils publish, and the numbers their files carry or the shared identifier registry links. Payments are grouped by a normalised name, which is not identity.

Name or identifierValueWhere from
Name as publishedBrowne Jacobson LLP59 payments
Name as publishedBROWNE JACOBSON LLP37 payments
Name as publishedBrowne Jacobson Llp12 payments
  • Supplier pages exist only for suppliers paid at least £100,000 in total or by at least 3 councils, and only when the published lines show an organisation (a Companies House or charity number, a legal form such as LTD or PLC, or a public body's name) and the name has no personal title. Sole traders, individuals and payees councils redact get no page.

Sources

  • Sheffield City Council spending files (Data Mill North catalogue) — Sheffield City Council. Payments dated 1 October 2025 to 30 September 2026. https://datamillnorth.org/api/action/package_show?id=emd0m
  • Leicester City Council spending files (data.gov.uk catalogue) — Leicester City Council. Payments dated 7 July 2024 to 30 September 2026. https://ckan.publishing.service.gov.uk/api/action/package_show?id=expenditure-exceeding-500-2026
  • City of York Council spending files (York Open Data catalogue) — City of York Council. Payments dated 2 April 2025 to 31 July 2026, source date 2026-08-14. https://data.yorkopendata.org/api/3/action/package_show?id=all-payments-to-suppliers
  • Rushmoor Borough Council spending files (data.gov.uk catalogue) — Rushmoor Borough Council. Payments dated 10 January 2025 to 30 July 2026, source date 2026-10-21. https://ckan.publishing.service.gov.uk/api/action/package_show?id=rushmoor-250-spend
  • Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council spending files (data.gov.uk catalogue) — Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council. Payments dated 1 October 2025 to 28 August 2026, source date 2026-09-28. https://ckan.publishing.service.gov.uk/api/action/package_show?id=stockport-council-all-spend
  • Leeds City Council spending files (Data Mill North catalogue) — Leeds City Council. Payments dated 4 June 2025 to 30 June 2026. https://datamillnorth.org/api/action/package_show?id=2gpp0
  • Wirral Council spending files (data.gov.uk catalogue) — Wirral Council. Payments dated 1 October 2025 to 29 May 2026, source date 2026-07-14. https://ckan.publishing.service.gov.uk/api/action/package_show?id=https-www-wirral-gov-uk-about-council-budgets-and-spending-payments-suppliers-and-agents
  • Published by Olympus on Oct 21, 2026.
  • Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0 (Sheffield City Council).
  • Sheffield City Council: licence as the catalogue states it: Open Government Licence v3 (Data Mill North record license_title).
  • Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0 (Leicester City Council).
  • Leicester City Council: licence as the catalogue states it: Open Government Licence v3.0 (Leicester open data portal dataset metadata; the harvested data.gov.uk record states none).
  • Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v2.0 (City of York Council).
  • City of York Council: licence as the catalogue states it: Open Government Licence 2.0 (United Kingdom) (York Open Data record license_title).
  • Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence (Rushmoor Borough Council).
  • Rushmoor Borough Council: licence as the catalogue states it: UK Open Government Licence (OGL) (data.gov.uk record, license_id uk-ogl; version not stated).
  • Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence (Stockport Council).
  • Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council: licence as the catalogue states it: UK Open Government Licence (OGL) (data.gov.uk record, license_id uk-ogl; version not stated).
  • Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0 (Leeds City Council).
  • Leeds City Council: licence as the catalogue states it: Open Government Licence v3 (Data Mill North record license_title).
  • Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence (Wirral Council).
  • Wirral Council: licence as the catalogue states it: UK Open Government Licence (OGL) (data.gov.uk record, license_id uk-ogl; version not stated).

Get this data from the API

The same figures, with provenance on every value, from the API (free API key, reference).

curl
curl -s "https://api.olympus.new-odyssey.com/v1/uk-council-spending/suppliers/browne-jacobson-llp" -H "X-API-Key: $OLYMPUS_API_KEY"

curl -s "https://api.olympus.new-odyssey.com/v1/uk-council-spending/transactions?supplier=browne-jacobson-llp" -H "X-API-Key: $OLYMPUS_API_KEY"

Councils that paid this supplier

About this data