Canal & River Trust: council payments
8 published councils paid Canal & River Trust £749,707 across 42 payments dated 23 April 2025 to 25 September 2026, as the councils publish them in their spending files.
The largest payer was Rochdale Borough Council (£470,975).
Data as of Oct 21, 2026 (Olympus publication) · Markdown version
- Payments as each council publishes them under the Local Government Transparency Code 2015, mapped onto one schema. Amounts, dates and names are not adjusted: councils differ in threshold (over £500, over £250 or all spend), in whether amounts include VAT, and in which date they publish (payment, posting or certification). Redacted payees, usually individuals, are returned as redacted and never named. See GET /v1/uk-council-spending/coverage for the councils, files and months loaded.
- Suppliers are grouped by a normalised form of the published name (upper case, punctuation removed, LIMITED as LTD, ...). Grouping is not identity: different organisations can share a name, and one organisation can appear under several. A supplier is linked to a company only through a Companies House number a council file publishes.
Totals by council
Each council's payments to this supplier name, from the spending files in that council's catalogue.
| Council | Payments | Total | First payment | Last payment | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rochdale Borough Council | 7 | £470,975.02 | 29 December 2025 | 15 July 2026 | data.gov.uk catalogue, 23 September 2026 |
| London Borough of Barnet | 8 | £157,837.06 | 10 October 2025 | 26 August 2026 | Barnet open data catalogue |
| Leeds City Council | 2 | £59,712.00 | 3 October 2025 | 17 April 2026 | Data Mill North catalogue |
| Leicester City Council | 5 | £38,213.85 | 7 May 2025 | 25 September 2026 | data.gov.uk catalogue |
| City of York Council | 15 | £19,126.81 | 23 April 2025 | 15 July 2026 | York Open Data catalogue, 14 August 2026 |
| Sheffield City Council | 3 | £1,564.90 | 7 September 2026 | 7 September 2026 | Data Mill North catalogue |
| Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council | 1 | £1,151.93 | 24 April 2026 | 24 April 2026 | data.gov.uk catalogue, 28 September 2026 |
| Wakefield Metropolitan District Council | 1 | £1,125.00 | 7 April 2026 | 7 April 2026 | Data Mill North catalogue |
Totals by month
Payments from every council above, by the month of the date each council publishes.
| Month | Payments | Total |
|---|---|---|
| April 2025 | 1 | £2,870.24 |
| May 2025 | 4 | £3,350.66 |
| July 2025 | 1 | £2,962.42 |
| August 2025 | 1 | £942.41 |
| October 2025 | 3 | £6,139.08 |
| December 2025 | 3 | £150,350.00 |
| January 2026 | 1 | £2,962.42 |
| March 2026 | 1 | £1,000.00 |
| April 2026 | 10 | £499,308.07 |
| May 2026 | 7 | £3,282.04 |
| June 2026 | 2 | £23,656.68 |
| July 2026 | 2 | £16,644.95 |
| August 2026 | 2 | £22,716.91 |
| September 2026 | 4 | £13,520.69 |
- Amounts as published: no VAT adjustment and no reconciliation to accounts. Negative amounts are credits.
Recent payments
The 10 latest payments, each with the council file it is read from.
| Payment date | Council | Amount | Expense type | Source file (file date) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 25 September 2026 | Leicester City Council | £11,955.79 | Management & Business & Administrative Services | csv |
| 7 September 2026 | Sheffield City Council | £540.77 | RIVER & INLAND WATERWAYS | PUBLISHED REPORT - September 2026.xlsx |
| 7 September 2026 | Sheffield City Council | £524.13 | RIVER & INLAND WATERWAYS | PUBLISHED REPORT - September 2026.xlsx |
| 7 September 2026 | Sheffield City Council | £500.00 | RIVER & INLAND WATERWAYS | PUBLISHED REPORT - September 2026.xlsx |
| 26 August 2026 | London Borough of Barnet | £1,480.00 | Consultancy Fees | Expenditure Report August 2026.csv |
| 25 August 2026 | Leicester City Council | £21,236.91 | Management & Business & Administrative Services | csv |
| 15 July 2026 | Rochdale Borough Council | £13,561.88 | PROPERTY AND HIGHWAYS | 2026_JUL_Spend.csv (23 September 2026) |
| 15 July 2026 | City of York Council | £3,083.07 | Other Heating | over250payments2026.csv (14 August 2026) |
| 23 June 2026 | Rochdale Borough Council | £2,000.00 | EARLY HELP AND SCHOOLS | 2026_JUN_Spend.csv (23 September 2026) |
| 23 June 2026 | Rochdale Borough Council | £21,656.68 | PROPERTY AND HIGHWAYS | 2026_JUN_Spend.csv (23 September 2026) |
Top expense types
How the councils label these payments, largest first.
| Expense type | Payments | Total |
|---|---|---|
| not published | 7 | £470,975.02 |
| Capital Outlay | 1 | £150,000.00 |
| Premises? | 1 | £56,750.00 |
| Management & Business & Administrative Services | 2 | £33,192.70 |
| Other Heating | 9 | £14,983.23 |
| Rents Payable | 4 | £5,920.00 |
| Building Works & Repairs/Maintenance/Alterations | 3 | £5,021.15 |
| Contract Capital Works | 6 | £4,143.58 |
| Supplies & Services? | 1 | £2,962.00 |
| RIVER & INLAND WATERWAYS | 3 | £1,564.90 |
Names and identifiers
The spellings councils publish, and the numbers their files carry or the shared identifier registry links. Payments are grouped by a normalised name, which is not identity.
| Name or identifier | Value | Where from |
|---|---|---|
| Name as published | Canal & River Trust | 19 payments |
| Name as published | Canal and River Trust | 12 payments |
| Name as published | CANAL AND RIVER TRUST | 7 payments |
| Name as published | CANAL & RIVER TRUST | 4 payments |
| Companies House number | 07807276 | published in the council files |
| Charity Commission (England and Wales) number | 1146792 | published in the council files |
- Supplier pages exist only for suppliers paid at least £100,000 in total or by at least 3 councils, and only when the published lines show an organisation (a Companies House or charity number, a legal form such as LTD or PLC, or a public body's name) and the name has no personal title. Sole traders, individuals and payees councils redact get no page.
Sources
- Rochdale Borough Council spending files (data.gov.uk catalogue) — Rochdale Borough Council. Payments dated 1 October 2025 to 28 August 2026, source date 2026-09-23. https://ckan.publishing.service.gov.uk/api/action/package_show?id=council-spending-over-500
- London Borough of Barnet spending files (Barnet open data catalogue) — London Borough of Barnet. Payments dated 1 October 2025 to 28 August 2026. https://open.barnet.gov.uk/api/action/package_show?id=2ywz8
- Leeds City Council spending files (Data Mill North catalogue) — Leeds City Council. Payments dated 4 June 2025 to 30 June 2026. https://datamillnorth.org/api/action/package_show?id=2gpp0
- Leicester City Council spending files (data.gov.uk catalogue) — Leicester City Council. Payments dated 7 July 2024 to 30 September 2026. https://ckan.publishing.service.gov.uk/api/action/package_show?id=expenditure-exceeding-500-2026
- City of York Council spending files (York Open Data catalogue) — City of York Council. Payments dated 2 April 2025 to 31 July 2026, source date 2026-08-14. https://data.yorkopendata.org/api/3/action/package_show?id=all-payments-to-suppliers
- Sheffield City Council spending files (Data Mill North catalogue) — Sheffield City Council. Payments dated 1 October 2025 to 30 September 2026. https://datamillnorth.org/api/action/package_show?id=emd0m
- Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council spending files (data.gov.uk catalogue) — Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council. Payments dated 1 October 2025 to 28 August 2026, source date 2026-09-28. https://ckan.publishing.service.gov.uk/api/action/package_show?id=stockport-council-all-spend
- Wakefield Metropolitan District Council spending files (Data Mill North catalogue) — Wakefield Metropolitan District Council. Payments dated 1 October 2025 to 30 September 2026. https://datamillnorth.org/api/action/package_show?id=e61m0
- Published by Olympus on Oct 21, 2026.
- Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence (Rochdale Borough Council).
- Rochdale Borough Council: licence as the catalogue states it: UK Open Government Licence (OGL) (data.gov.uk record, license_id uk-ogl; version not stated).
- Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0 (London Borough of Barnet).
- London Borough of Barnet: licence as the catalogue states it: Open Government Licence v3 (Barnet open data record license_title).
- Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0 (Leeds City Council).
- Leeds City Council: licence as the catalogue states it: Open Government Licence v3 (Data Mill North record license_title).
- Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0 (Leicester City Council).
- Leicester City Council: licence as the catalogue states it: Open Government Licence v3.0 (Leicester open data portal dataset metadata; the harvested data.gov.uk record states none).
- Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v2.0 (City of York Council).
- City of York Council: licence as the catalogue states it: Open Government Licence 2.0 (United Kingdom) (York Open Data record license_title).
- Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0 (Sheffield City Council).
- Sheffield City Council: licence as the catalogue states it: Open Government Licence v3 (Data Mill North record license_title).
- Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence (Stockport Council).
- Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council: licence as the catalogue states it: UK Open Government Licence (OGL) (data.gov.uk record, license_id uk-ogl; version not stated).
- Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0 (Wakefield Council).
- Wakefield Metropolitan District Council: licence as the catalogue states it: Open Government Licence v3 (Data Mill North record license_title).
Get this data from the API
The same figures, with provenance on every value, from the API (free API key, reference).
curl -s "https://api.olympus.new-odyssey.com/v1/uk-council-spending/suppliers/canal-and-river-trust" -H "X-API-Key: $OLYMPUS_API_KEY"
curl -s "https://api.olympus.new-odyssey.com/v1/uk-council-spending/transactions?supplier=canal-and-river-trust" -H "X-API-Key: $OLYMPUS_API_KEY"