UK council spending · supplier

CDW Limited: council payments

5 published councils paid CDW Limited £5,125,589 across 158 payments dated 14 January 2025 to 26 August 2026, as the councils publish them in their spending files.

The largest payer was Leicester City Council (£3,274,534).

Data as of Oct 21, 2026 (Olympus publication) · Markdown version

  • Payments as each council publishes them under the Local Government Transparency Code 2015, mapped onto one schema. Amounts, dates and names are not adjusted: councils differ in threshold (over £500, over £250 or all spend), in whether amounts include VAT, and in which date they publish (payment, posting or certification). Redacted payees, usually individuals, are returned as redacted and never named. See GET /v1/uk-council-spending/coverage for the councils, files and months loaded.
  • Suppliers are grouped by a normalised form of the published name (upper case, punctuation removed, LIMITED as LTD, ...). Grouping is not identity: different organisations can share a name, and one organisation can appear under several. A supplier is linked to a company only through a Companies House number a council file publishes.

Totals by council

Each council's payments to this supplier name, from the spending files in that council's catalogue.

CouncilPaymentsTotalFirst paymentLast paymentSource
Leicester City Council83£3,274,533.7914 January 202521 August 2026data.gov.uk catalogue
Rochdale Borough Council34£972,721.5720 October 202526 August 2026data.gov.uk catalogue, 23 September 2026
Leeds City Council22£756,526.421 October 202519 June 2026Data Mill North catalogue
City of York Council13£94,871.7815 July 20254 August 2025York Open Data catalogue, 14 August 2026
Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council6£26,935.599 October 202529 May 2026data.gov.uk catalogue, 28 September 2026

Totals by month

Payments from every council above, by the month of the date each council publishes.

MonthPaymentsTotal
January 20258£552,552.93
February 20253£15,130.90
March 20256£185,669.21
April 202512£302,429.94
May 20254£212,226.77
June 20255£324,671.90
July 202510£56,530.30
August 202514£40,286.99
September 20257£42,499.95
October 202517£105,732.24
November 20259£45,854.59
December 202514£144,744.80
January 20265£17,243.81
February 20266£24,610.74
March 20268£1,154,520.48
April 202610£29,633.72
May 20263£6,564.96
June 20266£690,309.58
July 20263£96,093.34
August 20268£1,078,282.00
  • Amounts as published: no VAT adjustment and no reconciliation to accounts. Negative amounts are credits.

Recent payments

The 10 latest payments, each with the council file it is read from.

Payment dateCouncilAmountExpense typeSource file (file date)
26 August 2026Rochdale Borough Council£1,163.45RESOURCES2026_AUG_Spend.csv (23 September 2026)
25 August 2026Rochdale Borough Council£29.98RESOURCES2026_AUG_Spend.csv (23 September 2026)
25 August 2026Rochdale Borough Council£77.88RESOURCES2026_AUG_Spend.csv (23 September 2026)
25 August 2026Rochdale Borough Council£15,926.35RESOURCES2026_AUG_Spend.csv (23 September 2026)
24 August 2026Rochdale Borough Council£12,580.76RESOURCES2026_AUG_Spend.csv (23 September 2026)
24 August 2026Rochdale Borough Council£836,999.09RESOURCES2026_AUG_Spend.csv (23 September 2026)
21 August 2026Leicester City Council£506.36IT Hardwarecsv
11 August 2026Leicester City Council£210,998.13IT Softwarecsv
31 July 2026Leicester City Council£17,094.00IT Hardwarecsv
28 July 2026Leicester City Council£78,400.00Repairs & Maintenance IT Softwarecsv

Top expense types

How the councils label these payments, largest first.

Expense typePaymentsTotal
IT Software26£2,181,536.43
not published47£1,060,276.64
IT Hardware43£757,417.37
Supplies & Services?9£668,971.35
Repairs & Maintenance IT Software4£291,160.37
R&M IT Software and Licences13£94,871.78
ICT Consultancy / Support6£26,935.59
Equipment Purchase3£17,081.63
Building Works - Alterations3£15,695.67
Building Works & Repairs/Maintenance/Alterations1£5,717.12

Names and identifiers

The spellings councils publish, and the numbers their files carry or the shared identifier registry links. Payments are grouped by a normalised name, which is not identity.

Name or identifierValueWhere from
Name as publishedCDW Limited83 payments
Name as publishedCDW Ltd41 payments
Name as publishedCDW LTD34 payments
  • Supplier pages exist only for suppliers paid at least £100,000 in total or by at least 3 councils, and only when the published lines show an organisation (a Companies House or charity number, a legal form such as LTD or PLC, or a public body's name) and the name has no personal title. Sole traders, individuals and payees councils redact get no page.

Sources

  • Leicester City Council spending files (data.gov.uk catalogue) — Leicester City Council. Payments dated 7 July 2024 to 30 September 2026. https://ckan.publishing.service.gov.uk/api/action/package_show?id=expenditure-exceeding-500-2026
  • Rochdale Borough Council spending files (data.gov.uk catalogue) — Rochdale Borough Council. Payments dated 1 October 2025 to 28 August 2026, source date 2026-09-23. https://ckan.publishing.service.gov.uk/api/action/package_show?id=council-spending-over-500
  • Leeds City Council spending files (Data Mill North catalogue) — Leeds City Council. Payments dated 4 June 2025 to 30 June 2026. https://datamillnorth.org/api/action/package_show?id=2gpp0
  • City of York Council spending files (York Open Data catalogue) — City of York Council. Payments dated 2 April 2025 to 31 July 2026, source date 2026-08-14. https://data.yorkopendata.org/api/3/action/package_show?id=all-payments-to-suppliers
  • Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council spending files (data.gov.uk catalogue) — Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council. Payments dated 1 October 2025 to 28 August 2026, source date 2026-09-28. https://ckan.publishing.service.gov.uk/api/action/package_show?id=stockport-council-all-spend
  • Published by Olympus on Oct 21, 2026.
  • Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0 (Leicester City Council).
  • Leicester City Council: licence as the catalogue states it: Open Government Licence v3.0 (Leicester open data portal dataset metadata; the harvested data.gov.uk record states none).
  • Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence (Rochdale Borough Council).
  • Rochdale Borough Council: licence as the catalogue states it: UK Open Government Licence (OGL) (data.gov.uk record, license_id uk-ogl; version not stated).
  • Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0 (Leeds City Council).
  • Leeds City Council: licence as the catalogue states it: Open Government Licence v3 (Data Mill North record license_title).
  • Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v2.0 (City of York Council).
  • City of York Council: licence as the catalogue states it: Open Government Licence 2.0 (United Kingdom) (York Open Data record license_title).
  • Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence (Stockport Council).
  • Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council: licence as the catalogue states it: UK Open Government Licence (OGL) (data.gov.uk record, license_id uk-ogl; version not stated).

Get this data from the API

The same figures, with provenance on every value, from the API (free API key, reference).

curl
curl -s "https://api.olympus.new-odyssey.com/v1/uk-council-spending/suppliers/cdw-ltd" -H "X-API-Key: $OLYMPUS_API_KEY"

curl -s "https://api.olympus.new-odyssey.com/v1/uk-council-spending/transactions?supplier=cdw-ltd" -H "X-API-Key: $OLYMPUS_API_KEY"

Councils that paid this supplier

About this data