UK council spending · supplier

THE UNIVERSITY OF MANCHESTER: council payments

5 published councils paid THE UNIVERSITY OF MANCHESTER £131,795 across 43 payments dated 1 April 2025 to 26 August 2026, as the councils publish them in their spending files.

The largest payer was Rochdale Borough Council (£73,279).

Data as of Oct 21, 2026 (Olympus publication) · Markdown version

  • Payments as each council publishes them under the Local Government Transparency Code 2015, mapped onto one schema. Amounts, dates and names are not adjusted: councils differ in threshold (over £500, over £250 or all spend), in whether amounts include VAT, and in which date they publish (payment, posting or certification). Redacted payees, usually individuals, are returned as redacted and never named. See GET /v1/uk-council-spending/coverage for the councils, files and months loaded.
  • Suppliers are grouped by a normalised form of the published name (upper case, punctuation removed, LIMITED as LTD, ...). Grouping is not identity: different organisations can share a name, and one organisation can appear under several. A supplier is linked to a company only through a Companies House number a council file publishes.

Totals by council

Each council's payments to this supplier name, from the spending files in that council's catalogue.

CouncilPaymentsTotalFirst paymentLast paymentSource
Rochdale Borough Council24£73,279.4018 January 202615 July 2026data.gov.uk catalogue, 23 September 2026
Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council10£25,690.0019 December 202526 August 2026data.gov.uk catalogue, 28 September 2026
Liverpool City Council1£17,249.521 April 20251 April 2025Data Mill North catalogue
Sheffield City Council3£10,521.5226 January 202628 January 2026Data Mill North catalogue
Leeds City Council5£5,055.0020 October 202520 May 2026Data Mill North catalogue

Totals by month

Payments from every council above, by the month of the date each council publishes.

MonthPaymentsTotal
April 20251£17,249.52
October 20251£1,500.00
December 20251£2,000.00
January 20268£35,714.52
February 20264£15,152.00
March 20267£16,650.95
April 202610£23,620.95
May 20265£2,050.00
July 20262£12,602.50
August 20264£5,255.00
  • Amounts as published: no VAT adjustment and no reconciliation to accounts. Negative amounts are credits.

Recent payments

The 10 latest payments, each with the council file it is read from.

Payment dateCouncilAmountExpense typeSource file (file date)
26 August 2026Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council£2,000.00Further and Higher EducationAll+Spend+August+2026.csv (28 September 2026)
26 August 2026Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council£1,085.00Further and Higher EducationAll+Spend+August+2026.csv (28 September 2026)
26 August 2026Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council£1,085.00Further and Higher EducationAll+Spend+August+2026.csv (28 September 2026)
26 August 2026Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council£1,085.00Further and Higher EducationAll+Spend+August+2026.csv (28 September 2026)
15 July 2026Rochdale Borough Council£6,301.25EARLY HELP AND SCHOOLS2026_JUL_Spend.csv (23 September 2026)
15 July 2026Rochdale Borough Council£6,301.25EARLY HELP AND SCHOOLS2026_JUL_Spend.csv (23 September 2026)
20 May 2026Leeds City Council-£3,000.00Supplies & Services?spending_2026_05.csv
20 May 2026Leeds City Council£1,500.00Supplies & Services?spending_2026_05.csv
20 May 2026Leeds City Council£1,500.00Supplies & Services?spending_2026_05.csv
6 May 2026Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council£400.00Further and Higher EducationAll+Spend+May+2026.csv (1 July 2026)

Top expense types

How the councils label these payments, largest first.

Expense typePaymentsTotal
not published25£74,779.40
Further and Higher Education10£25,690.00
Events1£17,249.52
UNIVERSITIES & MEDICAL SCHOOLS3£10,521.52
Supplies & Services?4£3,555.00

Names and identifiers

The spellings councils publish, and the numbers their files carry or the shared identifier registry links. Payments are grouped by a normalised name, which is not identity.

Name or identifierValueWhere from
Name as publishedTHE UNIVERSITY OF MANCHESTER24 payments
Name as publishedUNIVERSITY OF MANCHESTER19 payments
  • Supplier pages exist only for suppliers paid at least £100,000 in total or by at least 3 councils, and only when the published lines show an organisation (a Companies House or charity number, a legal form such as LTD or PLC, or a public body's name) and the name has no personal title. Sole traders, individuals and payees councils redact get no page.

Sources

  • Rochdale Borough Council spending files (data.gov.uk catalogue) — Rochdale Borough Council. Payments dated 1 October 2025 to 28 August 2026, source date 2026-09-23. https://ckan.publishing.service.gov.uk/api/action/package_show?id=council-spending-over-500
  • Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council spending files (data.gov.uk catalogue) — Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council. Payments dated 1 October 2025 to 28 August 2026, source date 2026-09-28. https://ckan.publishing.service.gov.uk/api/action/package_show?id=stockport-council-all-spend
  • Liverpool City Council spending files (Data Mill North catalogue) — Liverpool City Council. Payments dated 21 November 2023 to 30 June 2025. https://datamillnorth.org/api/action/package_show?id=2w6d8
  • Sheffield City Council spending files (Data Mill North catalogue) — Sheffield City Council. Payments dated 1 October 2025 to 30 September 2026. https://datamillnorth.org/api/action/package_show?id=emd0m
  • Leeds City Council spending files (Data Mill North catalogue) — Leeds City Council. Payments dated 4 June 2025 to 30 June 2026. https://datamillnorth.org/api/action/package_show?id=2gpp0
  • Published by Olympus on Oct 21, 2026.
  • Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence (Rochdale Borough Council).
  • Rochdale Borough Council: licence as the catalogue states it: UK Open Government Licence (OGL) (data.gov.uk record, license_id uk-ogl; version not stated).
  • Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence (Stockport Council).
  • Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council: licence as the catalogue states it: UK Open Government Licence (OGL) (data.gov.uk record, license_id uk-ogl; version not stated).
  • Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v2.0 (Liverpool City Council).
  • Liverpool City Council: licence as the catalogue states it: Open Government Licence v2 (Data Mill North record license_title).
  • Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0 (Sheffield City Council).
  • Sheffield City Council: licence as the catalogue states it: Open Government Licence v3 (Data Mill North record license_title).
  • Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0 (Leeds City Council).
  • Leeds City Council: licence as the catalogue states it: Open Government Licence v3 (Data Mill North record license_title).

Get this data from the API

The same figures, with provenance on every value, from the API (free API key, reference).

curl
curl -s "https://api.olympus.new-odyssey.com/v1/uk-council-spending/suppliers/university-of-manchester" -H "X-API-Key: $OLYMPUS_API_KEY"

curl -s "https://api.olympus.new-odyssey.com/v1/uk-council-spending/transactions?supplier=university-of-manchester" -H "X-API-Key: $OLYMPUS_API_KEY"

Councils that paid this supplier

About this data