UK council spending · supplier

W J North Limited: council payments

3 published councils paid W J North Limited £559,686 across 271 payments dated 1 October 2025 to 28 September 2026, as the councils publish them in their spending files.

The largest payer was Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council (£239,904).

Data as of Oct 21, 2026 (Olympus publication) · Markdown version

  • Payments as each council publishes them under the Local Government Transparency Code 2015, mapped onto one schema. Amounts, dates and names are not adjusted: councils differ in threshold (over £500, over £250 or all spend), in whether amounts include VAT, and in which date they publish (payment, posting or certification). Redacted payees, usually individuals, are returned as redacted and never named. See GET /v1/uk-council-spending/coverage for the councils, files and months loaded.
  • Suppliers are grouped by a normalised form of the published name (upper case, punctuation removed, LIMITED as LTD, ...). Grouping is not identity: different organisations can share a name, and one organisation can appear under several. A supplier is linked to a company only through a Companies House number a council file publishes.

Totals by council

Each council's payments to this supplier name, from the spending files in that council's catalogue.

CouncilPaymentsTotalFirst paymentLast paymentSource
Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council197£239,904.176 October 202526 August 2026data.gov.uk catalogue, 28 September 2026
Calderdale Council68£192,153.651 October 202528 September 2026Calderdale Data Works catalogue
Rochdale Borough Council6£127,628.367 October 202515 July 2026data.gov.uk catalogue, 23 September 2026

Totals by month

Payments from every council above, by the month of the date each council publishes.

MonthPaymentsTotal
October 202541£103,710.92
November 202520£102,801.17
December 202512£20,841.00
January 202623£71,912.65
February 202646£79,782.21
March 202626£18,413.62
April 202628£37,790.32
May 20265£1,455.74
June 202615£26,179.95
July 202628£16,739.54
August 202621£63,702.90
September 20266£16,356.16
  • Amounts as published: no VAT adjustment and no reconciliation to accounts. Negative amounts are credits.

Recent payments

The 10 latest payments, each with the council file it is read from.

Payment dateCouncilAmountExpense typeSource file (file date)
28 September 2026Calderdale Council£11,581.24Private ContractorsSeptember 2026.csv
25 September 2026Calderdale Council£714.11Repairs Alterations And Maintenance Of Buildings Fixed Plant And GroundsSeptember 2026.csv
25 September 2026Calderdale Council£2,417.87Repairs Alterations And Maintenance Of Buildings Fixed Plant And GroundsSeptember 2026.csv
25 September 2026Calderdale Council£224.77Repairs Alterations And Maintenance Of Buildings Fixed Plant And GroundsSeptember 2026.csv
25 September 2026Calderdale Council£498.37Repairs Alterations And Maintenance Of Buildings Fixed Plant And GroundsSeptember 2026.csv
25 September 2026Calderdale Council£919.80Repairs Alterations And Maintenance Of Buildings Fixed Plant And GroundsSeptember 2026.csv
26 August 2026Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council£180.39Construction / Building ServicesAll+Spend+August+2026.csv (28 September 2026)
26 August 2026Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council£52.62Construction / Building ServicesAll+Spend+August+2026.csv (28 September 2026)
26 August 2026Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council£99.45Construction / Building ServicesAll+Spend+August+2026.csv (28 September 2026)
26 August 2026Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council£141.24Construction / Building ServicesAll+Spend+August+2026.csv (28 September 2026)

Top expense types

How the councils label these payments, largest first.

Expense typePaymentsTotal
Construction / Building Services192£236,543.46
not published6£127,628.36
Private Contractors19£110,980.25
Construction & Conversion29£69,736.21
Repairs Alterations And Maintenance Of Buildings Fixed Plant And Grounds13£5,543.76
Engineering Services5£3,360.71
Other Fees3£2,227.32
Boarding up1£1,975.29
Equipment Furniture And Materials2£985.67
Services1£705.15

Names and identifiers

The spellings councils publish, and the numbers their files carry or the shared identifier registry links. Payments are grouped by a normalised name, which is not identity.

Name or identifierValueWhere from
Name as publishedW J North Limited197 payments
Name as publishedW J North Ltd68 payments
Name as publishedW J NORTH LTD6 payments
Companies House number02884681published in the council files
OLY-GB-PPONPTMB-1681-VWYJshared identifier registry (published)
Olympus entity IDorg_199yncg30j01xmhfw03kqqg44sshared identifier registry
  • Supplier pages exist only for suppliers paid at least £100,000 in total or by at least 3 councils, and only when the published lines show an organisation (a Companies House or charity number, a legal form such as LTD or PLC, or a public body's name) and the name has no personal title. Sole traders, individuals and payees councils redact get no page.

Sources

  • Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council spending files (data.gov.uk catalogue) — Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council. Payments dated 1 October 2025 to 28 August 2026, source date 2026-09-28. https://ckan.publishing.service.gov.uk/api/action/package_show?id=stockport-council-all-spend
  • Calderdale Council spending files (Calderdale Data Works catalogue) — Calderdale Council. Payments dated 1 October 2025 to 30 September 2026. https://dataworks.calderdale.gov.uk/api/action/package_show?id=2wqx8
  • Rochdale Borough Council spending files (data.gov.uk catalogue) — Rochdale Borough Council. Payments dated 1 October 2025 to 28 August 2026, source date 2026-09-23. https://ckan.publishing.service.gov.uk/api/action/package_show?id=council-spending-over-500
  • Published by Olympus on Oct 21, 2026.
  • Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence (Stockport Council).
  • Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council: licence as the catalogue states it: UK Open Government Licence (OGL) (data.gov.uk record, license_id uk-ogl; version not stated).
  • Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v2.0 (Calderdale Council).
  • Calderdale Council: licence as the catalogue states it: Open Government Licence v2 (Calderdale Data Works record license_title).
  • Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence (Rochdale Borough Council).
  • Rochdale Borough Council: licence as the catalogue states it: UK Open Government Licence (OGL) (data.gov.uk record, license_id uk-ogl; version not stated).

Get this data from the API

The same figures, with provenance on every value, from the API (free API key, reference).

curl
curl -s "https://api.olympus.new-odyssey.com/v1/uk-council-spending/suppliers/w-j-north-ltd" -H "X-API-Key: $OLYMPUS_API_KEY"

curl -s "https://api.olympus.new-odyssey.com/v1/uk-council-spending/transactions?supplier=w-j-north-ltd" -H "X-API-Key: $OLYMPUS_API_KEY"

Councils that paid this supplier

Same organisation in other Olympus APIs

About this data