UK council spending · supplier

Capsticks Solicitors LLP: council payments

6 published councils paid Capsticks Solicitors LLP £499,740 across 176 payments dated 19 March 2025 to 12 August 2026, as the councils publish them in their spending files.

The largest payer was City of York Council (£373,310).

Data as of Oct 21, 2026 (Olympus publication) · Markdown version

  • Payments as each council publishes them under the Local Government Transparency Code 2015, mapped onto one schema. Amounts, dates and names are not adjusted: councils differ in threshold (over £500, over £250 or all spend), in whether amounts include VAT, and in which date they publish (payment, posting or certification). Redacted payees, usually individuals, are returned as redacted and never named. See GET /v1/uk-council-spending/coverage for the councils, files and months loaded.
  • Suppliers are grouped by a normalised form of the published name (upper case, punctuation removed, LIMITED as LTD, ...). Grouping is not identity: different organisations can share a name, and one organisation can appear under several. A supplier is linked to a company only through a Companies House number a council file publishes.

Totals by council

Each council's payments to this supplier name, from the spending files in that council's catalogue.

CouncilPaymentsTotalFirst paymentLast paymentSource
City of York Council143£373,309.8930 April 202513 May 2026York Open Data catalogue, 14 August 2026
Wirral Council7£91,163.7426 January 202620 April 2026data.gov.uk catalogue, 14 July 2026
Rochdale Borough Council13£21,275.6516 February 202612 August 2026data.gov.uk catalogue, 23 September 2026
Leeds City Council8£8,620.5020 November 20255 June 2026Data Mill North catalogue
Leicester City Council4£4,370.7019 March 202528 July 2026data.gov.uk catalogue
Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council1£1,000.0017 April 202617 April 2026data.gov.uk catalogue, 28 September 2026

Totals by month

Payments from every council above, by the month of the date each council publishes.

MonthPaymentsTotal
March 20251£545.70
April 20256£34,964.00
May 202527£52,334.50
June 202512£36,003.40
August 202517£26,036.30
September 20253£4,568.87
October 202523£38,704.02
November 202512£33,610.00
December 20254£3,631.20
January 20264£41,633.74
February 20265£58,300.10
March 20263£6,238.00
April 202624£90,857.20
May 202629£68,935.10
June 20263£1,069.85
July 20261£1,337.50
August 20262£971.00
  • Amounts as published: no VAT adjustment and no reconciliation to accounts. Negative amounts are credits.

Recent payments

The 10 latest payments, each with the council file it is read from.

Payment dateCouncilAmountExpense typeSource file (file date)
12 August 2026Rochdale Borough Council£273.50ECONOMY DIRECTORATE2026_AUG_Spend.csv (23 September 2026)
11 August 2026Rochdale Borough Council£697.50ECONOMY DIRECTORATE2026_AUG_Spend.csv (23 September 2026)
28 July 2026Leicester City Council£1,337.50Legal Fees & Chargescsv
22 June 2026Rochdale Borough Council£676.35ECONOMY DIRECTORATE2026_JUN_Spend.csv (23 September 2026)
12 June 2026Rochdale Borough Council£86.50ECONOMY DIRECTORATE2026_JUN_Spend.csv (23 September 2026)
5 June 2026Leeds City Council£307.00Recharges?spending_2026_06.csv
29 May 2026Leicester City Council£1,737.50Legal Fees & Chargescsv
21 May 2026Leeds City Council£350.00Recharges?spending_2026_05.csv
21 May 2026Leeds City Council£775.00Recharges?spending_2026_05.csv
13 May 2026City of York Council£300.00External Solicitorsover250payments2026.csv (14 August 2026)

Top expense types

How the councils label these payments, largest first.

Expense typePaymentsTotal
Legal Fees54£241,130.62
External Solicitors85£127,895.27
not published22£113,076.39
Recharges?4£7,432.00
Legal Fees & Charges4£4,370.70
Professional Fees4£4,284.00
Legal Services1£1,000.00
Supplies & Services?2£551.50

Names and identifiers

The spellings councils publish, and the numbers their files carry or the shared identifier registry links. Payments are grouped by a normalised name, which is not identity.

Name or identifierValueWhere from
Name as publishedCapsticks Solicitors LLP163 payments
Name as publishedCAPSTICKS SOLICITORS LLP13 payments
  • Supplier pages exist only for suppliers paid at least £100,000 in total or by at least 3 councils, and only when the published lines show an organisation (a Companies House or charity number, a legal form such as LTD or PLC, or a public body's name) and the name has no personal title. Sole traders, individuals and payees councils redact get no page.

Sources

  • City of York Council spending files (York Open Data catalogue) — City of York Council. Payments dated 2 April 2025 to 31 July 2026, source date 2026-08-14. https://data.yorkopendata.org/api/3/action/package_show?id=all-payments-to-suppliers
  • Wirral Council spending files (data.gov.uk catalogue) — Wirral Council. Payments dated 1 October 2025 to 29 May 2026, source date 2026-07-14. https://ckan.publishing.service.gov.uk/api/action/package_show?id=https-www-wirral-gov-uk-about-council-budgets-and-spending-payments-suppliers-and-agents
  • Rochdale Borough Council spending files (data.gov.uk catalogue) — Rochdale Borough Council. Payments dated 1 October 2025 to 28 August 2026, source date 2026-09-23. https://ckan.publishing.service.gov.uk/api/action/package_show?id=council-spending-over-500
  • Leeds City Council spending files (Data Mill North catalogue) — Leeds City Council. Payments dated 4 June 2025 to 30 June 2026. https://datamillnorth.org/api/action/package_show?id=2gpp0
  • Leicester City Council spending files (data.gov.uk catalogue) — Leicester City Council. Payments dated 7 July 2024 to 30 September 2026. https://ckan.publishing.service.gov.uk/api/action/package_show?id=expenditure-exceeding-500-2026
  • Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council spending files (data.gov.uk catalogue) — Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council. Payments dated 1 October 2025 to 28 August 2026, source date 2026-09-28. https://ckan.publishing.service.gov.uk/api/action/package_show?id=stockport-council-all-spend
  • Published by Olympus on Oct 21, 2026.
  • Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v2.0 (City of York Council).
  • City of York Council: licence as the catalogue states it: Open Government Licence 2.0 (United Kingdom) (York Open Data record license_title).
  • Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence (Wirral Council).
  • Wirral Council: licence as the catalogue states it: UK Open Government Licence (OGL) (data.gov.uk record, license_id uk-ogl; version not stated).
  • Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence (Rochdale Borough Council).
  • Rochdale Borough Council: licence as the catalogue states it: UK Open Government Licence (OGL) (data.gov.uk record, license_id uk-ogl; version not stated).
  • Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0 (Leeds City Council).
  • Leeds City Council: licence as the catalogue states it: Open Government Licence v3 (Data Mill North record license_title).
  • Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0 (Leicester City Council).
  • Leicester City Council: licence as the catalogue states it: Open Government Licence v3.0 (Leicester open data portal dataset metadata; the harvested data.gov.uk record states none).
  • Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence (Stockport Council).
  • Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council: licence as the catalogue states it: UK Open Government Licence (OGL) (data.gov.uk record, license_id uk-ogl; version not stated).

Get this data from the API

The same figures, with provenance on every value, from the API (free API key, reference).

curl
curl -s "https://api.olympus.new-odyssey.com/v1/uk-council-spending/suppliers/capsticks-solicitors-llp" -H "X-API-Key: $OLYMPUS_API_KEY"

curl -s "https://api.olympus.new-odyssey.com/v1/uk-council-spending/transactions?supplier=capsticks-solicitors-llp" -H "X-API-Key: $OLYMPUS_API_KEY"

Councils that paid this supplier

About this data