UK council spending · supplier

ROYAL MAIL GROUP LTD: council payments

7 published councils paid ROYAL MAIL GROUP LTD £2,391,514 across 818 payments dated 28 January 2025 to 24 September 2026, as the councils publish them in their spending files.

The largest payer was Sheffield City Council (£1,293,830).

Data as of Oct 21, 2026 (Olympus publication) · Markdown version

  • Payments as each council publishes them under the Local Government Transparency Code 2015, mapped onto one schema. Amounts, dates and names are not adjusted: councils differ in threshold (over £500, over £250 or all spend), in whether amounts include VAT, and in which date they publish (payment, posting or certification). Redacted payees, usually individuals, are returned as redacted and never named. See GET /v1/uk-council-spending/coverage for the councils, files and months loaded.
  • Suppliers are grouped by a normalised form of the published name (upper case, punctuation removed, LIMITED as LTD, ...). Grouping is not identity: different organisations can share a name, and one organisation can appear under several. A supplier is linked to a company only through a Companies House number a council file publishes.

Totals by council

Each council's payments to this supplier name, from the spending files in that council's catalogue.

CouncilPaymentsTotalFirst paymentLast paymentSource
Sheffield City Council183£1,293,829.661 October 202524 September 2026Data Mill North catalogue
London Borough of Barnet192£461,426.442 October 202526 August 2026Barnet open data catalogue
Leeds City Council168£365,571.3629 August 202530 June 2026Data Mill North catalogue
Rochdale Borough Council199£136,884.633 October 202526 August 2026data.gov.uk catalogue, 23 September 2026
Wakefield Metropolitan District Council30£71,493.367 October 202529 July 2026Data Mill North catalogue
Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council25£45,295.2210 October 202521 August 2026data.gov.uk catalogue, 28 September 2026
Leicester City Council21£17,012.9928 January 20252 September 2026data.gov.uk catalogue

Totals by month

Payments from every council above, by the month of the date each council publishes.

MonthPaymentsTotal
January 20251£671.46
March 20251£602.74
August 20254£2,498.77
September 202514£67.86
October 2025106£212,148.87
November 202574£122,683.46
December 202583£144,277.13
January 202664£121,995.88
February 202672£179,435.72
March 202681£144,348.74
April 202667£164,988.34
May 202671£595,320.74
June 202664£295,614.50
July 202649£118,265.98
August 202651£171,369.87
September 202616£117,223.60
  • Amounts as published: no VAT adjustment and no reconciliation to accounts. Negative amounts are credits.

Recent payments

The 10 latest payments, each with the council file it is read from.

Payment dateCouncilAmountExpense typeSource file (file date)
24 September 2026Sheffield City Council£22,532.16DELIVERY SERVICES (COURIER & MESSENGER)PUBLISHED REPORT - September 2026.xlsx
24 September 2026Sheffield City Council£704.70DELIVERY SERVICES (COURIER & MESSENGER)PUBLISHED REPORT - September 2026.xlsx
23 September 2026Sheffield City Council£2,085.46DELIVERY SERVICES (COURIER & MESSENGER)PUBLISHED REPORT - September 2026.xlsx
23 September 2026Sheffield City Council£768.18DELIVERY SERVICES (COURIER & MESSENGER)PUBLISHED REPORT - September 2026.xlsx
23 September 2026Sheffield City Council£578.91DELIVERY SERVICES (COURIER & MESSENGER)PUBLISHED REPORT - September 2026.xlsx
23 September 2026Sheffield City Council£451.35DELIVERY SERVICES (COURIER & MESSENGER)PUBLISHED REPORT - September 2026.xlsx
22 September 2026Sheffield City Council£1,021.29DELIVERY SERVICES (COURIER & MESSENGER)PUBLISHED REPORT - September 2026.xlsx
17 September 2026Sheffield City Council£23,488.35DELIVERY SERVICES (COURIER & MESSENGER)PUBLISHED REPORT - September 2026.xlsx
17 September 2026Sheffield City Council£562.40DELIVERY SERVICES (COURIER & MESSENGER)PUBLISHED REPORT - September 2026.xlsx
11 September 2026Sheffield City Council£25,897.15DELIVERY SERVICES (COURIER & MESSENGER)PUBLISHED REPORT - September 2026.xlsx

Top expense types

How the councils label these payments, largest first.

Expense typePaymentsTotal
DELIVERY SERVICES (COURIER & MESSENGER)181£1,293,458.17
Postage and Courier Services192£461,426.44
Supplies & Services?48£322,590.54
not published248£167,885.08
Post Office Services30£71,493.36
Postal / Mail / Courier Services25£45,295.22
Postage21£17,012.99
Premises?27£9,486.16
Supplies and Services11£2,330.30
DELIVERY SERVICES (MAIL SERVICES)2£371.49

Names and identifiers

The spellings councils publish, and the numbers their files carry or the shared identifier registry links. Payments are grouped by a normalised name, which is not identity.

Name or identifierValueWhere from
Name as publishedROYAL MAIL GROUP LTD412 payments
Name as publishedRoyal Mail Group Limited192 payments
Name as publishedRoyal Mail Group Ltd189 payments
Name as publishedRoyal Mail Group Ltd.25 payments
Companies House number04138203published in the council files
Olympus entity IDorg_1dbv1ffjjkkzwjj10e9ghv71wzshared identifier registry
  • Supplier pages exist only for suppliers paid at least £100,000 in total or by at least 3 councils, and only when the published lines show an organisation (a Companies House or charity number, a legal form such as LTD or PLC, or a public body's name) and the name has no personal title. Sole traders, individuals and payees councils redact get no page.

Sources

  • Sheffield City Council spending files (Data Mill North catalogue) — Sheffield City Council. Payments dated 1 October 2025 to 30 September 2026. https://datamillnorth.org/api/action/package_show?id=emd0m
  • London Borough of Barnet spending files (Barnet open data catalogue) — London Borough of Barnet. Payments dated 1 October 2025 to 28 August 2026. https://open.barnet.gov.uk/api/action/package_show?id=2ywz8
  • Leeds City Council spending files (Data Mill North catalogue) — Leeds City Council. Payments dated 4 June 2025 to 30 June 2026. https://datamillnorth.org/api/action/package_show?id=2gpp0
  • Rochdale Borough Council spending files (data.gov.uk catalogue) — Rochdale Borough Council. Payments dated 1 October 2025 to 28 August 2026, source date 2026-09-23. https://ckan.publishing.service.gov.uk/api/action/package_show?id=council-spending-over-500
  • Wakefield Metropolitan District Council spending files (Data Mill North catalogue) — Wakefield Metropolitan District Council. Payments dated 1 October 2025 to 30 September 2026. https://datamillnorth.org/api/action/package_show?id=e61m0
  • Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council spending files (data.gov.uk catalogue) — Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council. Payments dated 1 October 2025 to 28 August 2026, source date 2026-09-28. https://ckan.publishing.service.gov.uk/api/action/package_show?id=stockport-council-all-spend
  • Leicester City Council spending files (data.gov.uk catalogue) — Leicester City Council. Payments dated 7 July 2024 to 30 September 2026. https://ckan.publishing.service.gov.uk/api/action/package_show?id=expenditure-exceeding-500-2026
  • Published by Olympus on Oct 21, 2026.
  • Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0 (Sheffield City Council).
  • Sheffield City Council: licence as the catalogue states it: Open Government Licence v3 (Data Mill North record license_title).
  • Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0 (London Borough of Barnet).
  • London Borough of Barnet: licence as the catalogue states it: Open Government Licence v3 (Barnet open data record license_title).
  • Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0 (Leeds City Council).
  • Leeds City Council: licence as the catalogue states it: Open Government Licence v3 (Data Mill North record license_title).
  • Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence (Rochdale Borough Council).
  • Rochdale Borough Council: licence as the catalogue states it: UK Open Government Licence (OGL) (data.gov.uk record, license_id uk-ogl; version not stated).
  • Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0 (Wakefield Council).
  • Wakefield Metropolitan District Council: licence as the catalogue states it: Open Government Licence v3 (Data Mill North record license_title).
  • Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence (Stockport Council).
  • Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council: licence as the catalogue states it: UK Open Government Licence (OGL) (data.gov.uk record, license_id uk-ogl; version not stated).
  • Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0 (Leicester City Council).
  • Leicester City Council: licence as the catalogue states it: Open Government Licence v3.0 (Leicester open data portal dataset metadata; the harvested data.gov.uk record states none).

Get this data from the API

The same figures, with provenance on every value, from the API (free API key, reference).

curl
curl -s "https://api.olympus.new-odyssey.com/v1/uk-council-spending/suppliers/royal-mail-group-ltd" -H "X-API-Key: $OLYMPUS_API_KEY"

curl -s "https://api.olympus.new-odyssey.com/v1/uk-council-spending/transactions?supplier=royal-mail-group-ltd" -H "X-API-Key: $OLYMPUS_API_KEY"

Councils that paid this supplier

Same organisation in other Olympus APIs

About this data