UK council spending · supplier

UNIVERSITY OF BIRMINGHAM: council payments

6 published councils paid UNIVERSITY OF BIRMINGHAM £59,454 across 14 payments dated 16 September 2025 to 15 September 2026, as the councils publish them in their spending files.

The largest payer was Rochdale Borough Council (£23,200).

Data as of Oct 21, 2026 (Olympus publication) · Markdown version

  • Payments as each council publishes them under the Local Government Transparency Code 2015, mapped onto one schema. Amounts, dates and names are not adjusted: councils differ in threshold (over £500, over £250 or all spend), in whether amounts include VAT, and in which date they publish (payment, posting or certification). Redacted payees, usually individuals, are returned as redacted and never named. See GET /v1/uk-council-spending/coverage for the councils, files and months loaded.
  • Suppliers are grouped by a normalised form of the published name (upper case, punctuation removed, LIMITED as LTD, ...). Grouping is not identity: different organisations can share a name, and one organisation can appear under several. A supplier is linked to a company only through a Companies House number a council file publishes.

Totals by council

Each council's payments to this supplier name, from the spending files in that council's catalogue.

CouncilPaymentsTotalFirst paymentLast paymentSource
Rochdale Borough Council6£23,200.0012 December 202516 February 2026data.gov.uk catalogue, 23 September 2026
Leicester City Council3£14,813.0018 February 202624 June 2026data.gov.uk catalogue
Calderdale Council2£8,547.0019 December 202519 December 2025Calderdale Data Works catalogue
Wirral Council1£4,347.0012 May 202612 May 2026data.gov.uk catalogue, 14 July 2026
Sheffield City Council1£4,347.0015 September 202615 September 2026Data Mill North catalogue
City of York Council1£4,200.0016 September 202516 September 2025York Open Data catalogue, 14 August 2026

Totals by month

Payments from every council above, by the month of the date each council publishes.

MonthPaymentsTotal
September 20251£4,200.00
December 20256£23,347.00
February 20264£19,300.00
May 20261£4,347.00
June 20261£3,913.00
September 20261£4,347.00
  • Amounts as published: no VAT adjustment and no reconciliation to accounts. Negative amounts are credits.

Recent payments

The 10 latest payments, each with the council file it is read from.

Payment dateCouncilAmountExpense typeSource file (file date)
15 September 2026Sheffield City Council£4,347.00UNIVERSITIES & MEDICAL SCHOOLSPUBLISHED REPORT - September 2026.xlsx
24 June 2026Leicester City Council£3,913.00Employee Trainingcsv
12 May 2026Wirral Council£4,347.00E5710over-ps500-payments-may-2026.csv (14 July 2026)
18 February 2026Leicester City Council£5,450.00Employee Trainingcsv
18 February 2026Leicester City Council£5,450.00Employee Trainingcsv
16 February 2026Rochdale Borough Council£4,200.00EARLY HELP AND SCHOOLS2026_FEB_Spend.csv (28 April 2026)
16 February 2026Rochdale Borough Council£4,200.00EARLY HELP AND SCHOOLS2026_FEB_Spend.csv (28 April 2026)
23 December 2025Rochdale Borough Council£4,200.00EARLY HELP AND SCHOOLS2025_DEC_Spend.csv (15 July 2026)
23 December 2025Rochdale Borough Council£4,200.00EARLY HELP AND SCHOOLS2025_DEC_Spend.csv (15 July 2026)
19 December 2025Calderdale Council£4,347.00ExpensesDecember 2025.csv

Top expense types

How the councils label these payments, largest first.

Expense typePaymentsTotal
not published7£27,547.00
Employee Training3£14,813.00
Expenses2£8,547.00
UNIVERSITIES & MEDICAL SCHOOLS1£4,347.00
Training Course Fees1£4,200.00

Names and identifiers

The spellings councils publish, and the numbers their files carry or the shared identifier registry links. Payments are grouped by a normalised name, which is not identity.

Name or identifierValueWhere from
Name as publishedUNIVERSITY OF BIRMINGHAM7 payments
Name as publishedThe University Of Birmingham3 payments
Name as publishedUniversity Of Birmingham3 payments
Name as publishedUniversity of Birmingham1 payments
  • Supplier pages exist only for suppliers paid at least £100,000 in total or by at least 3 councils, and only when the published lines show an organisation (a Companies House or charity number, a legal form such as LTD or PLC, or a public body's name) and the name has no personal title. Sole traders, individuals and payees councils redact get no page.

Sources

  • Rochdale Borough Council spending files (data.gov.uk catalogue) — Rochdale Borough Council. Payments dated 1 October 2025 to 28 August 2026, source date 2026-09-23. https://ckan.publishing.service.gov.uk/api/action/package_show?id=council-spending-over-500
  • Leicester City Council spending files (data.gov.uk catalogue) — Leicester City Council. Payments dated 7 July 2024 to 30 September 2026. https://ckan.publishing.service.gov.uk/api/action/package_show?id=expenditure-exceeding-500-2026
  • Calderdale Council spending files (Calderdale Data Works catalogue) — Calderdale Council. Payments dated 1 October 2025 to 30 September 2026. https://dataworks.calderdale.gov.uk/api/action/package_show?id=2wqx8
  • Wirral Council spending files (data.gov.uk catalogue) — Wirral Council. Payments dated 1 October 2025 to 29 May 2026, source date 2026-07-14. https://ckan.publishing.service.gov.uk/api/action/package_show?id=https-www-wirral-gov-uk-about-council-budgets-and-spending-payments-suppliers-and-agents
  • Sheffield City Council spending files (Data Mill North catalogue) — Sheffield City Council. Payments dated 1 October 2025 to 30 September 2026. https://datamillnorth.org/api/action/package_show?id=emd0m
  • City of York Council spending files (York Open Data catalogue) — City of York Council. Payments dated 2 April 2025 to 31 July 2026, source date 2026-08-14. https://data.yorkopendata.org/api/3/action/package_show?id=all-payments-to-suppliers
  • Published by Olympus on Oct 21, 2026.
  • Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence (Rochdale Borough Council).
  • Rochdale Borough Council: licence as the catalogue states it: UK Open Government Licence (OGL) (data.gov.uk record, license_id uk-ogl; version not stated).
  • Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0 (Leicester City Council).
  • Leicester City Council: licence as the catalogue states it: Open Government Licence v3.0 (Leicester open data portal dataset metadata; the harvested data.gov.uk record states none).
  • Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v2.0 (Calderdale Council).
  • Calderdale Council: licence as the catalogue states it: Open Government Licence v2 (Calderdale Data Works record license_title).
  • Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence (Wirral Council).
  • Wirral Council: licence as the catalogue states it: UK Open Government Licence (OGL) (data.gov.uk record, license_id uk-ogl; version not stated).
  • Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0 (Sheffield City Council).
  • Sheffield City Council: licence as the catalogue states it: Open Government Licence v3 (Data Mill North record license_title).
  • Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v2.0 (City of York Council).
  • City of York Council: licence as the catalogue states it: Open Government Licence 2.0 (United Kingdom) (York Open Data record license_title).

Get this data from the API

The same figures, with provenance on every value, from the API (free API key, reference).

curl
curl -s "https://api.olympus.new-odyssey.com/v1/uk-council-spending/suppliers/university-of-birmingham" -H "X-API-Key: $OLYMPUS_API_KEY"

curl -s "https://api.olympus.new-odyssey.com/v1/uk-council-spending/transactions?supplier=university-of-birmingham" -H "X-API-Key: $OLYMPUS_API_KEY"

Councils that paid this supplier

About this data